Writing Inspiration in Music

When writing you need to get the conditions right. Whether you sit in absolute silence, on top of a cliff or listening to the loudest heavy metal you can find, if it gets those creative juices flowing then do it. Personally, when I write I make a playlist of songs that lyrics, sound or mood inspire me and I want to share the playlist I used when writing Faces of a Small City.

The Doors’ Hello, I Love You is a great song where the lyrics really relate to the idea of love at first sight. “Hello, I love you, won’t you tell me your name”. When I write I like to visualise my story as if a film in my head and this song would definitely be the opening tune, theoretically speaking, of course.

30 Seconds To Mars’ cover to Stay by Rihanna, in my opinion, is so much better than the original. There is more emotion and feeling in this version. It is soulful, sexy and stirred me while busy typing away.

Mellow Mood by Bob Marley helped me get into the reggae mood which especially helped as the main character, James is a fan in the novel. This song is romantic and makes me think of summer; perfect for a summer love story.

Young and Beautiful by Lana Del Rey actually inspired the theme throughout the novel of youth and beauty running hand in hand. When I listen to it, it makes me think of being young, meeting someone for the first time and having a whirlwind romance; a romance as fleeting as youth and beauty.

Not everyone’s cup of tea but I love Run to Your Mama by rock band Hardcore Superstar. For me it is a sad song about vulnerability and fits perfectly with the main characters.

Why I Love You by Jay Z and Kanye West, featuring Mr. Hudson has a great chorus that is along the same lines as Hello, I Love You. “I love you so. But why I love you, I’ll never know”. I think those lyrics match the mystery of love. Also this song would make a great clubbing track. I could imagine a busy nightclub filled with people bouncing up and down in slow motion with this song playing over the top.

The Beatles – In My Life. A classic. The sound and the lyrics are just great.

If you want the essence of night clubbing in all it’s romanticised glory, then Give Me Everything by Pitbull is it. I’m not a huge fan of Pitbull but this song takes me back to my personal memories of clubbing. Even though going night clubbing can be ugly and soul draining, it can also be fun, wild and passionate.

Thanks for reading the list of songs that inspired me as I wrote Faces of a Small City. Please take a look at my novel on Amazon by clicking here

Paul

Inspiration Mixtape copy

Leave a Reply

