Best Romance Stories Ever Told?

As Valentine’s Day is coming up I thought I’d list a few of my favourite love stories.  Some are pretty standard and some are just my personal favourites, some end happy and some end sad.

In no particular order here are my choices for great love stories:

Romeo and Juliet

A classic with a sad ending it may be, but this is a tale of love at its most passionate, a story that lasts only a couple of days but will be enjoyed for an eternity.

“O, then, dear saint, let lips do what hands do.
They pray; grant thou, lest faith turn to despair.” Act 1 Scene 5
So Seductive!

Jim and Pam – The Office (U.S)

This story goes from a brilliant will-they-won’t-they unrequited love to love to marriage to children to despair and to happiness again in a great love story that I am not afraid to say is AMAZING! Well acted, well executed, well good!

“Four years ago, I was just a guy who had a crush on a girl, who had a boyfriend. And I had to do the hardest thing that I’ve ever had to do, which was just to wait.” Season 6, Episode 4

Jay Gatsby and Daisy Buchanan – The Great Gatsby

They loved each other in the past and then Gatsby had to go away to war.  But he never forgot her, getting all the money in the world just to win her back.  Sure, it didn’t end up great, but this love story is certainly worth a mention.

“Then he kissed her. At his lips’ touch she blossomed for him like a flower and the incarnation was complete” (Chapter 6)

Heathcliff and Catherine – Wuthering Heights

Sorry for another tragedy, but hey, we love a sad ending! The love story of Heathcliff and Catherine begins in childhood and ends at death, both lovers unable to be with or without each other, finally find love in death (and beyond).

“Be with me always – take any form – drive me mad! Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you!” (Chapter 16)

Carl Reese and Sarah Connor – The Terminator

Only referring to The Terminator (1984) to avoid any kind of uproar, the story of Carl Reese and Sarah Connor can blow the mind if you think about it too hard but at it’s essence is a powerful tale of the human heart going to extremes for love.

“I came across time for you, Sarah. I love you. I always have.” Reese

Belle and The Beast – Beauty and The Beast

I am going to refer to the Disney film here because everyone loves Disney. A great love story with an evil enchantress, a dying rose with a spell, an intelligent beauty, a vain villain, a tormented, lonely beast and a cup with a chip in it called Chip – perfect.

Tale as old as time, True as it can be, Barely even friends, Then some body bends, Unexpectedly” (Beauty and The Beast, 1991)

Just a few great love stories to sink your teeth into over Valentine’s Day.  Of course there are hundreds more I could list that you are probably furious that I haven’t mentioned but I picked my favourites so enjoy!

PLUS I have my own love story which you can check out on Amazon by clicking here for a new tale to enjoy.

Thanks for reading,

Forever Yours,

Paul

Me and GatsbyClick a PicElectric City Centre copy2

Leave a Reply

