Writing, Rewriting, Readjusting, Rewriting, Resculpturing and Repeat the First Chapter

Hello,

Working on my 2nd novel.

My first novel is available here

I swear my first chapter wasn’t this hard to write the 1st time around! Plus people say that writers spend years writing their 1st novel but then whiz through their 2nd novel. Why am I not whizzing?

WHERE IS MY WHIZ?!

I have written it, rewritten it, readjusted it, resculptured it, and repeated it.  Yet I still cannot find the right way to start.  I want my first chapters to have/be 2 things.

1. Include an opening line that will make your eyeballs roll. Think ‘it was the best of times, it was the worst of times,’ from A Tale of Two Cities by Dickens or ‘Her name was Bullwinkle.  We called her that because she had a face like moose’ that starts off The Dirt, the autobiography of 80’s rock band Motley Crue.

2. Not write one of those really cheesy opening chapters which asks too many questions and ends on an “O-M-G” cliff hanger.  It’s just so cliché and makes me, the reader think, does the author think I’m so dumb that they need to put a really obvious “please read the rest of me” chapter to get me hooked?

Maybe I am just being silly.  Probably actually.  I am a very silly person. But the struggle continues with the 1st chapter.  I have other chapters written but this one I just cannot tame.

For those who are also having a hard time with their first chapter check out the video below out…

This You Tuber, Ellen Brock, is an independent editor whose videos I have found very helpful.  I’ve only spoken to her via email once but she seems to know what she is talking about and looks like a lovely lady.

Hope this helps and happy writing/reading.

Forever Yours,

Paul

BluesClick a Pic20141108_192323_2

 

Please follow me on Twitter

And Like the Facebook page HERE

Leave a Reply

