Being a Published Author: The 1st 6 Months

It has been 6 months since I released Faces of a Small City. Huzzah! Click the link below to see it on amazon in UK.

Faces_Of_A_Small_Cit_Cover_for_Kindle (1)

 

So, how do I feel after 6 months.  Erm, ok.  Thanks.  You?

I have learnt a lot; how not to do things mainly.  And how terribly annoying Create Space is.  And how no one really wants to read your book because they are too busy.

It has been frustrating at times and spending most of my life trying to get Twitter followers and blog likes is tough, especially when half of me says, “I really just want to get rid of social media”, and then the other half says “NOOOO, you need social media to get readers!”

The overnight success I dreamt of but did not expect did not happen which I expected (if that makes sense).  Although I was recently introduced to The Secret by a work colleague, which taught me to not not expect it and rather to think YES!  I will sell hundreds and hundreds of copies!  Search for it on You Tube.  It is a video about 1 hour 30 mins.  You will either think it is inspiring or terrible.  I found it terrible but a lesson in how to think more positively.  However, I am also superstitious and think, if you think the best you won’t get it.  So my mind is pretty much in a meltdown over the whole thing.

Review It

Alas, I digress.  I have been impressed with the amount of twitter followers I have received over the past 6 months.  They have definitely doubled if not more, however, I fear they are mainly authors looking to get me to read their novels.

To sum up, the first 6 months of being a published author has been an eye opener for want of a less cliché phrase.  It hasn’t been a great success but rather a part of a foundation, a foundation that is helping to build my profile.

I am not giving up.  I am still working as hard as I can on a 2nd novel, plus this one definitely is not the “difficult second novel” as I feel more confident and more prepared for the world of self publishing.

Even though the whole experience was mostly horrible with getting my 1st novel ready to be published, I cannot wait to do it again.  My foundation is being made and I am loving that.  Then hopefully one day my foundations will go towards building my dream house, metaphorically and physically (like what I did there) because despite all the odds that are stacked against me I love what I am doing and willing to continue on, and that my friend, is the secret.

Thanks for reading.

Forever Yours,

Paul

New Novel MemeClick a PicFaces Marlowe Tales2

Leave a Reply

