I’ve Never Read Harry Potter 3: The Prisoner of Azkaban

I’ve never read Harry Potter, until now. And now I’m blogging about it. With no idea what to expect and little to no knowledge of the story lines, I venture forth into the wizarding world.

harry_potter_and_the_prisoner_of_azkaban_us_coverGoing into the Prisoner of Azkaban, I was aware of the hype. I have heard people think it is the best book and the best film and it is when the childish storylines become more grown up. I agree. The relationships begin to evolve and we learn more about Harry’s parents. Also, the Dementors feel a lot more PG rather than U.

I don’t know, in terms of Potter timeline, whether people realised Harry Potter was a big deal so got some better editors in to help, or J.K. Rowling changed up her style, but the writing reads much better. Not only that but the storyline goes deeper, with more intelligent twists and turns.

I had no idea which way Sirius Black would go and found that story line kept me reading. The Buckbeak storyline, although necessary, felt boring.

With the books beginning to lengthen (and as a slow reader) I am dubious about how I will find future books. PofA made a big jump in page count compared to the first 2 and just about managed to keep the story moving. Will the future books keep my interest with every page or will it become what I like to call a “brick book” – full of words but not necessarily necessary words.

Now to the films. The film of Chamber of Secrets felt forgettable whereas PofA felt like an actual movie. The shots looked nice and tried to portray a meaning. Yet, even one of the most loved films of the series did not feel like a good movie.

Prisoner of Azkaban Sirius Black Wanted PosterFrom where I sit now (3 films/books in), it feels like the Harry Potter franchise is good, but the films on their own are just not good enough. The editing of the films feel awkward, and Daniel Radcliffe is still struggling to act (don’t get me wrong, I think Radcliffe is a good actor now so I expect somewhere down the line he turns good).

The 2nd Dumbledore is better than the first. #Justsaying. The first Dumbledore felt weak and forgettable. He was no Gandalf, that’s for sure. Dumbledore 2 has presence #sorrynotsorry.

mv5bmty4ntiwodg0n15bml5banbnxkftztcwotc0mjezmw-_v1_uy1200_cr9106301200_al_The Next Harry Potter

I am looking forward to reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, but Voldemort NEEDS to be introduced soon. I like how Voldemort has not been introduced yet, but I am reaching that point where the story needs to move on. BRING IN RALPH!!

I will be going to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, so I hope there are no HP spoilers! I have heard good things about the film so cannot wait.

Thanks for reading,

Forever yours,

Paul.

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets coverClick a PicHarry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone Cover

Leave a Reply

